timezone icon TimeZone (US/Pacific-New)

Meet Kathleen McAuliffe, author of "This is Your Brain on Parasites"
Friday, March 16, 2018 5:00:00 PM PDT - 7:00:00 PM PDT
In the tradition of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs and Steel and Neil Shubin’s Your Inner Fish, This Is Your Brain on Parasites is both a journey into cutting-edge science and a revelatory examination of what it means to be human. In myriad ways, McAuliffe reveals, parasites influence how other creatures—including humans—think, feel and act.  Many are capable of manipulating their hosts with astonishing precision, coaxing rats to approach cats, spiders to transform their webs, and fish to draw the attention of predatory birds.  Hosts have in turn evolved behaviors to keep them safe from infection. Disease avoidance is a major driving force behind numerous adaptations, from revulsions to sexual attractions, and in our case, even our social values.


Kathleen McAuliffe
Kathleen McAuliffe
is a science and health writer whose work has appeared in the Best American Science Writing and more than a dozen national magazines, including Discover, The Atlantic, the New York Times, Magazine, the Los Angeles Times, and Smithsonian. She is also an adjunct professor at the University of Miami, where she teaches a course on the microbiome. 

If you've never used Adobe Connect, get a quick overview: http://www.adobe.com/products/adobeconnect.html
Adobe, the Adobe logo, Acrobat and Adobe Connect are either registered trademarks or trademarks
of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries.